EDITION: Edgecombe County
FAQs PLACE A CLASSIFIED AD ADVERTISE YOUR BUSINESS
33 °
Light Rain Fog/Mist
Registered Users, Log In Here
Craft Beers & Reviews

GoWilkes

Posted 4:00 am, 11/21/2016

Well, my fellow beer fans, I have a horror story for you!


Locally, it seems like Left Hand's Milk Stout is unavailable, so I went to Total Wine in Winston Salem last month in the hopes of finding them. Lo and behold, they had several 6-packs in stock! So I bought my precious milk stout, along with about $60 worth of other beers to try; including:

Southern Tier Choklat ($17 for 4, so I had high expectations)
Weyerbacher Sunday Mole Stout
Stone Coffee Milk Stout
Bell's Special Double Cream Stout
Founder's Breakfast Stout

So I got home, and that night I wanted to try my Left Hand. So I babied it a little, let it sit on the counter for about 20 minutes before opening so it would get to just the right temperature, then poured it in my stout glass.

Wait a minute, where's the carbonation? Tasted it... oh, no, disgusting!

Tried another one... nope, skunked.

At this point I was just mad, so I moved on to the Southern Tier Choklat... nope, skunked.

That's when I started looking at dates. Man, the Left Hand had been bottled in 2013! No wonder they had it in stock when everybody else was out!! And the Southern Tier had been bottled in 2015! Of course they're skunked!

I went through all of the beers that I had bought, and about half of them were well past their Best-by date.

So I sent Total Wine an email through their website. About a week later, I got an email from them, but was it a reply? Nope, it was a survey, asking about my experience! To which I was brutally honest.

Finally, last week, I got an email from corporate; no real explanation for taking a month to reply, but with a promise that they'll investigate and refund my card.

A few days later, I get a call from the Total Wine manager. She left a voicemail, saying that she wants me to return her call so that she can "explain those dates on the bottles"... as if I don't know the difference between a "Bottled" and "Best by" stamp. And also making it very clear that they have no intention of refunding me for a bunch of outdated, skunked beer.

So I have to consider this money well spent to learn two important lessons: don't buy beer from Total Wine in Winston, and always look at the date stamp before buying!

At least some of the beers weren't skunked, so I'll post reviews on those as soon as I can. I have 5 beers that I would like to review, though, so give me a little time...

GoWilkes

Posted 3:40 am, 10/17/2016

Hangs, as far as I know, coffee (or chocolate) isn't actually added to the beer. I believe it just refers to the roasting process that gives it a specific coffee or chocolate aroma.


Similarly, a milk stout uses lactose sugars in the fermenting process, so it has a slightly sweeter flavor. It doesn't taste like milk (at least, it shouldn't; that Nitro was just wrong).

Chendo, what's funny is that I've tried about half of the beers named there! LOL Next thing you know, I'll be sitting at Smooth Park with my typewriter

pitmixes

Posted 11:04 pm, 10/13/2016

222 public house currently has Flying Dog Oyster Stout and Founders Breakfast Stout

hangsleft

Posted 4:33 pm, 10/13/2016

I'm sorry, but a beer should be a BEER. When you add the words, coffee/milk/green, then you've lost me.

chendo

Posted 4:10 pm, 10/13/2016

Jason...you have definitely entered into a weird phase

Hipsters Love Beer

Subscribe to The STATION by MAKER: https://goo.gl/IA6HYe Kassem G, Steve Kardynal and YouTuber fr...

Length: 2:11

GoWilkes

Posted 3:26 am, 10/13/2016

So, I just wanted to give you guys a few more updates.


First off, I have a new favorite! It's Left Hand Brewing's Milk Stout. This has the strong coffee flavor of most stouts, and the same smooth texture. But unlike most, this one is heavily carbonated so the texture isn't too smooth. And it's 6% ABV, so it's strong but not too strong.

I've found it at Lowes Food on 421, at $10.99 for a 6-pack.

I also recently tried Sam Adam's Nitro Coffee Stout. It came in a can, and needed to be poured in to a glass. This was my first experience with a nitrogen-infused beer, so I was optimistic.

But let me say, I was grossly disappointed! Even though it smelled great when I first opened it, the flavor was extremely weak, and the texture was extremely creamy. It was more like drinking a glass of watery milk, with a tiny hint of coffee and a tiny hint of beer. It might be a good start for someone that's transitioning from ale to stout, but for a regular dark beer drinker it was just too weak.

This beer gets mostly great reviews online, so maybe it was just me. Maybe I'm just used to stronger tasting beers. But for me, half of this ended up going down the sink.

Are you serious?

Posted 3:57 pm, 08/16/2016

The beer festival in Statesville sounds like a better deal than Elkin. In Elkin you are limited to 15 tastings and Statesville doesn't say that there is a limit.

GoNC - DEC1

Posted 2:52 pm, 08/16/2016

Craft Brew Fest in Statesville


Chendo

Posted 3:23 am, 08/04/2016

My 21 year old daughter and her friends all love that white zombie swill

A_voice

Posted 2:42 am, 08/04/2016

When you have a chance, take a drive down towards the Catawba Brewing Company. Try a "White Zombie". A friend told me about the place and said it tastes like fruity pebbles. He invites me there for a birthday celebration, I try it, and I will be darned if he wasn't right. I had to buy a growler and take it home. Also the Farmer Ted's Cream Ale was also great. I'm not much of a dark beer drinker but they do offer a sampler as well that may find you something you may prefer instead. Here is a link to their website, do give them a try sometime.

GoNC - DEC1

Posted 11:58 pm, 08/03/2016

Hangsleft, I forgot about this one coming up in September. It is in Elkin.


GoNC - DEC1

Posted 9:54 pm, 08/02/2016

Hangsleft there is a big beer fest in Raleigh area. I believe it is in June. I'll find the info and post here for you in a day or two so you can look at maybe attending next year. There is also one in Boone area that has already occurred. I believe there are some coming up soon in surrounding counties. I'll post for you as I list them.

hangsleft

Posted 10:57 am, 08/02/2016

http://www.charlestonbeergarden.com/

We do this every year. Is there anything similar around Wilkes?

I could plan one of my trips around it.

chendo

Posted 7:14 am, 08/02/2016

Cool, sadvic!

sadvic

Posted 5:52 am, 08/02/2016

I make my own homebrew, I have learned how to make an IPA, I just intro the hops at the last of the Fermentation, I can make the IPA as strong or lite as I want, I like a strong hops IPA, Actually adding
the IPA hops gives the beer more carbonation and more head.

aFicIoNadoS

Posted 8:43 pm, 08/01/2016

I guess Chendo is the only one that read my link.

smalltownman

Posted 8:10 pm, 08/01/2016

smalltownman

Posted 8:08 pm, 08/01/2016

chendo

Posted 2:25 pm, 08/01/2016

Oh wow...

chendo

Posted 1:52 pm, 08/01/2016

Foothills has a huge tasting room and brewery works on Kim well.

I am at juggheads several times a week...the good thing is they only feature NC beers...

The bad thing is they only feature NC beers

Your Reply

Your Username:

Your Password:


 
Add Reply
Cancel