EDITION: Edgecombe County
FAQs PLACE A CLASSIFIED AD ADVERTISE YOUR BUSINESS
Registered Users, Log In Here
Craft Beers & Reviews

Mr.Clodhopper

Posted 8:45 pm, 11/21/2016

You can't go wrong with a cold Coors Lite

aFicIoNadoS

Posted 8:36 pm, 11/21/2016

Jason, I'm pretty sure Chendo was directing his comment to Twit. Anyone that thinks they made a taste choice by drinking coors even though they drove a Budweiser truck, is clearly a redneck

Note from GoNC: a portion of this post was removed for trolling. I have to admit that I appreciated the joke and sarcasm, but still...

backwater

Posted 8:36 pm, 11/21/2016

If you know where to go in Wilkes or Yadkin county,you can find some good drinking liquor.You throw all the beer out and forget about all that stale taste!Jmo.

GoWilkes

Posted 8:29 pm, 11/21/2016

I'm a redneck? Wait, I thought you said I was a hipster! Darned identity crisis


So, I've had a few breweries email me to request that we announce this survey:


They plan to use the results to adjust their marketing, as well as to decide which beers to brew and distribute. It only takes a few minutes to complete but it will help them a lot, and if you choose at the end you can register to win 1 of 4 gift cards worth $50 at your favorite brewery!

In the comments at the end, be sure to mention that you found it on GoNC

aFicIoNadoS

Posted 5:41 pm, 11/21/2016

What Chendo said.

chendo

Posted 3:04 pm, 11/21/2016

Guinness has been brewing for about 115 years longer than coors or budweiser...

yes, you are indeed a redneck, but it has less to do with your choice of beverage than what you espouse, and how you present it

OpenCasket

Posted 2:49 pm, 11/21/2016

I think it's time for Jason to go to his first Beerfest.

GoWilkes

Posted 2:42 pm, 11/21/2016

Oh, no, I fully admit that dark beers aren't necessarily for everyone. I remember the first time I tried one (an Amberbock that a friend highly recommended), I thought it was disgusting!


Many years ago, I would drink Michelob Light (with a dash of salt), and it was... OK. Then later I tried Blue Moon (a division of Miller), and it was better, but still just OK. But I always felt like ales tasted kind of weak and a little flavorless, so I just thought that I didn't like beer. I would drink them with certain foods, but that was all.

A few years ago, though, I stopped drinking sweetened drinks (to lose fat), and started mainly drinking unsweetened tea. That was definitely an acquired taste, but after about a month I couldn't stand sweet tea anymore! After that, I stopped wanting sugar very much at all, so fruity beers like Blue Moon became way too sweet!

That's when I tried my first Stout... either a Guiness or Killians, I don't remember which. The bitterness really appealed to me, and that's when I started trying other breweries.

I'll still drink the occasional ale, or even an IPA, with certain food pairings (IPA seems to go very well with Thai food), but if I'm just drinking a beer by itself, I'll go for a dark beer every time

Time_Will_Tell

Posted 10:47 am, 11/21/2016

In my opinion all the dark beer is awful, I don't see how you drink it. I've tried to acquire A taste for it. Not happening, I do agree with Americas taste test, Coors Lite is with out A doubt the best tasting beer, and I used to drive A Bud Truck. If drinking that dark horse pee is classy, I guess i'm A red neck. The people that have brewed beer for years got past all that dark pee 50 years ago, it didn't sell then, and it's still not good, lol

White America

Posted 10:07 am, 11/21/2016

I am surprised, Mr gowilkes, you left off a third and more likely option. Did you ever consider the beer just tasted like *** all along?

Just kidding

chendo

Posted 9:45 am, 11/21/2016

Call the Manger back and ask her what her Yelp rating is

Time_Will_Tell

Posted 4:28 am, 11/21/2016

I think they make tools too, I have some craft tools, and A lawn mower, that craft stuff is pretty good

time_will_tell

Posted 4:24 am, 11/21/2016

Craft?, is that the same people that make the cheese and the boats?

GoWilkes

Posted 4:00 am, 11/21/2016

Well, my fellow beer fans, I have a horror story for you!


Locally, it seems like Left Hand's Milk Stout is unavailable, so I went to Total Wine in Winston Salem last month in the hopes of finding them. Lo and behold, they had several 6-packs in stock! So I bought my precious milk stout, along with about $60 worth of other beers to try; including:

Southern Tier Choklat ($17 for 4, so I had high expectations)
Weyerbacher Sunday Mole Stout
Stone Coffee Milk Stout
Bell's Special Double Cream Stout
Founder's Breakfast Stout

So I got home, and that night I wanted to try my Left Hand. So I babied it a little, let it sit on the counter for about 20 minutes before opening so it would get to just the right temperature, then poured it in my stout glass.

Wait a minute, where's the carbonation? Tasted it... oh, no, disgusting!

Tried another one... nope, skunked.

At this point I was just mad, so I moved on to the Southern Tier Choklat... nope, skunked.

That's when I started looking at dates. Man, the Left Hand had been bottled in 2013! No wonder they had it in stock when everybody else was out!! And the Southern Tier had been bottled in 2015! Of course they're skunked!

I went through all of the beers that I had bought, and about half of them were well past their Best-by date.

So I sent Total Wine an email through their website. About a week later, I got an email from them, but was it a reply? Nope, it was a survey, asking about my experience! To which I was brutally honest.

Finally, last week, I got an email from corporate; no real explanation for taking a month to reply, but with a promise that they'll investigate and refund my card.

A few days later, I get a call from the Total Wine manager. She left a voicemail, saying that she wants me to return her call so that she can "explain those dates on the bottles"... as if I don't know the difference between a "Bottled" and "Best by" stamp. And also making it very clear that they have no intention of refunding me for a bunch of outdated, skunked beer.

So I have to consider this money well spent to learn two important lessons: don't buy beer from Total Wine in Winston, and always look at the date stamp before buying!

At least some of the beers weren't skunked, so I'll post reviews on those as soon as I can. I have 5 beers that I would like to review, though, so give me a little time...

GoWilkes

Posted 3:40 am, 10/17/2016

Hangs, as far as I know, coffee (or chocolate) isn't actually added to the beer. I believe it just refers to the roasting process that gives it a specific coffee or chocolate aroma.


Similarly, a milk stout uses lactose sugars in the fermenting process, so it has a slightly sweeter flavor. It doesn't taste like milk (at least, it shouldn't; that Nitro was just wrong).

Chendo, what's funny is that I've tried about half of the beers named there! LOL Next thing you know, I'll be sitting at Smooth Park with my typewriter

pitmixes

Posted 11:04 pm, 10/13/2016

222 public house currently has Flying Dog Oyster Stout and Founders Breakfast Stout

hangsleft

Posted 4:33 pm, 10/13/2016

I'm sorry, but a beer should be a BEER. When you add the words, coffee/milk/green, then you've lost me.

chendo

Posted 4:10 pm, 10/13/2016

Jason...you have definitely entered into a weird phase

Hipsters Love Beer

Subscribe to The STATION by MAKER: https://goo.gl/IA6HYe Kassem G, Steve Kardynal and YouTuber fr...

Length: 2:11

GoWilkes

Posted 3:26 am, 10/13/2016

So, I just wanted to give you guys a few more updates.


First off, I have a new favorite! It's Left Hand Brewing's Milk Stout. This has the strong coffee flavor of most stouts, and the same smooth texture. But unlike most, this one is heavily carbonated so the texture isn't too smooth. And it's 6% ABV, so it's strong but not too strong.

I've found it at Lowes Food on 421, at $10.99 for a 6-pack.

I also recently tried Sam Adam's Nitro Coffee Stout. It came in a can, and needed to be poured in to a glass. This was my first experience with a nitrogen-infused beer, so I was optimistic.

But let me say, I was grossly disappointed! Even though it smelled great when I first opened it, the flavor was extremely weak, and the texture was extremely creamy. It was more like drinking a glass of watery milk, with a tiny hint of coffee and a tiny hint of beer. It might be a good start for someone that's transitioning from ale to stout, but for a regular dark beer drinker it was just too weak.

This beer gets mostly great reviews online, so maybe it was just me. Maybe I'm just used to stronger tasting beers. But for me, half of this ended up going down the sink.

Are you serious?

Posted 3:57 pm, 08/16/2016

The beer festival in Statesville sounds like a better deal than Elkin. In Elkin you are limited to 15 tastings and Statesville doesn't say that there is a limit.

Your Reply

Your Username:

Your Password:


 
Add Reply
Cancel